Abdul Malik Memon

Column Placing/Positioning

7 posts in this topic

Asalam-o-alaikum,

I'm working on a Ground +3 residential bungalow. The column position  assigned by architect seems quite vague to me and i think that number of columns can be reduced but as I'm an beginner need seniors advice. The attached file is an architect plan.

Furthermore, are there any standards for column placing/positioning? if yes, then what are those?

After designing a structure what check must be performed before handing over the design results?

And any literature about pick-up beams?

Thank you, hope I haven't flooded the post with question. 

arch jawad drawing.dwg

On 6/19/2016 at 6:08 AM, Abdul Malik Memon said:

Furthermore, are there any standards for column placing/positioning? if yes, then what are those?

Nothing specific. There is nothing wrong with having this many columns. These columns are more like confined masonry columns rather than structural columns.

After designing a structure what check must be performed before handing over the design results?

Sanity checks. Your results should make sense and load path should be complete.

And any literature about pick-up beams?

Pick-up beams?

First you must be clear about requirements (arch, mep etc). Have a clear understanding of dwgs, are the cols masonary, non load bearing? Have you prepared 2, 3 different struc schemes? If you think you can value engineer and reduce cols, check with client req if they too want it.

Then you make sure the scheme is working, deflections, load paths, foundations, framing, cost.

Reducing cols mean, bigger beam and slab spans and so more deflections. Have you checked that? Also more local load on foundations if cols are far, and more sway in wind/eq bcz less bending stiffness of vertical elements (if you are not increasing col/wall sizes to compensate that).